Dialogue

The Future – Made in Germany

As long ago as the 1970s, computer scientist Alan Kay said “The best way to predict the future is to invent it.” There is no better way to sum up our mission.

German automobile manufacturers and suppliers are developing alternative and environmentally sustainable drives for the majority of customers, not only for a niche market. Furthermore, these vehicles also have automated driving features that we are continuously developing. Research departments at these companies are working on cars which are linked to their surroundings and to other vehicles, but which also guarantee the data security of their drivers and are protected against hackers. The manufacturers are pursuing advanced and flexible solutions for urban mobility, such as car sharing in major cities. We are working on the future of the automobile and the mobility of tomorrow.

We are witnessing a development which one might call “The Future – Made in Germany”. In other words, the sustainable reinvention of individual mobility through engineering. This is evolution instead of revolution. Because safety and quality are our priority, even if it sometimes seems to be going too slowly for some. The boundaries of what is economically and technically feasible set the pace we work at.

Of course, the German automotive industry has not enjoyed the best image recently. The discussions about manipulating software have raised questions in the general public about credibility and corporate culture; we have to face these questions. What is especially disconcerting for us is that these discussions have created the impression that we have not concerned ourselves with the pressing issues concerning mobility of the future: scarce resources, the world’s growing population, expanding cities.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

The German automotive industry is working with all its engineering skills to make internal combustion engines more efficient, because these will dominate global mobility for many years. There is still a long way to go until the charging infrastructure for electric cars is widely available, until fuel cells are suitable for everyday use, and until such innovations have reached the megacities in developing countries. This path can only be taken with fuel-efficient and clean gasoline and diesel engines that guarantee that we treat our planet responsibly and, at the same time, serve the mobility needs of a growing and more demanding world population.

With the “Mobility of Tomorrow” initiative, we want to show what is possible today, what will soon be possible, and the innovations we are working on. The following member companies of the German Association of the Automotive Industry (VDA) are behind the initiative: Audi, BMW, Bosch, Continental, Ford, Mercedes-Benz, Opel, Porsche, Volkswagen and ZF Friedrichshafen.

How will people get from A to B in the future? And with which technologies? These are questions that can be hotly debated; in any case, they lead to fundamental innovations. Instead of only talking about them, we want to present specific German manufacturer and supplier projects on a common platform for the first time, give their experts a chance to speak about relevant issues, and take a look behind the scenes by touring the development departments, think tanks, and testing laboratories.

Will you join us on this exciting journey?

Initiative

Zukunft – Made in Germany

„Die beste Methode, die Zukunft vorherzusagen, besteht darin, sie zu erfinden“, sagte bereits in den 1970er Jahren der legendäre Informatiker Alan Kay. Besser kann man unsere Mission auch nicht zusammenfassen.

Deutsche Automobilhersteller und Zulieferer entwickeln alternative und ökologisch nachhaltige Antriebe – und zwar für die Mehrheit der Kunden, nicht nur für Nischen. Zudem verfügen die Fahrzeuge über automatisierte Fahrfunktionen, die wir ständig weiterentwickeln. Die Forschungsabteilungen in den Konzernen arbeiten an Autos, die mit ihrer Umgebung und mit anderen Fahrzeugen vernetzt sind, dabei aber die Datensicherheit ihrer Fahrer garantieren und gegen Hacker geschützt sind. Die Hersteller setzen auf fortschrittliche und flexible Lösungen für urbane Mobilität, etwa das Carsharing in Großstädten. Wir arbeiten an der Zukunft des Automobils und an der Mobilität von morgen.

Wir erleben gerade eine Entwicklung, die man „Zukunft – Made in Germany“ nennen könnte. Also die nachhaltige Neuerfindung der Individualmobilität mit den Mitteln der Ingenieurskunst. Das ist eher Evolution als Revolution. Denn Sicherheit und Qualität haben bei uns Vorfahrt, auch wenn es manchem manchmal zu langsam zu gehen scheint. Die Grenzen des wirtschaftlich und technisch Machbaren geben uns den Takt vor.

Zugegeben: Die deutsche Automobilindustrie hat zuletzt nicht immer das beste Bild abgegeben. Die Debatten um Manipulation von Software haben in der Öffentlichkeit Fragen rund um Glaubwürdigkeit und Unternehmenskultur aufgeworfen, denen wir uns stellen müssen. Sie haben zudem – und das ärgert uns besonders – den Eindruck erweckt, wir kümmerten uns nicht um die drängenden Fragen nach der Mobilität der Zukunft: knapper werdende Ressourcen, die wachsende Weltbevölkerung, expandierende Städte.

Nichts entspricht weniger der Wahrheit.

Die deutsche Automobilindustrie arbeitet mit all ihrer Ingenieurskunst daran, Verbrennungsmotoren immer effizienter zu machen, weil diese noch viele Jahre die weltweite Mobilität dominieren werden. Bis die Lade-Infrastruktur für Elektroautos flächendeckend verfügbar ist, bis Brennstoffzellen alltagstauglich sind, und bis sich solche Innovationen auch in den Megacitys der Entwicklungsländer verbreitet haben, liegt noch ein langer Weg vor uns. Ein Weg, auf dem nur verbrauchsarme und saubere Otto- und Dieselmotoren garantieren, dass wir unseren Planeten verantwortungsvoll behandeln und gleichzeitig die Mobilitätsbedürfnisse einer wachsenden und anspruchsvoller werdenden Weltbevölkerung bedienen können.

Mit der Initiative „Mobilität von morgen“ wollen wir zeigen, was heute schon geht und was bald kommt, an welchen spannenden Innovationen wir arbeiten. Hinter der Initiative stehen die folgenden Mitglieder des Verbandes der Automobilindustrie (VDA): Audi, BMW, Bosch, Continental, Ford, Mercedes-Benz, Opel, Porsche, Volkswagen und ZF Friedrichshafen.

Wie werden wir uns in Zukunft fortbewegen? Und mit welchen Technologien? Das sind Fragen, die man kontrovers diskutieren kann, die aber in jedem Fall zu grundlegenden Neuerungen führen werden. Statt nur über sie zu sprechen, wollen wir hier erstmals auf einer gemeinsamen Plattform auch konkrete Projekte deutscher Hersteller und Zulieferer zeigen, ihre Experten zu Wort kommen lassen und einen Blick hinter die Kulissen werfen – wir gehen auf Entdeckungstour durch die Entwicklungsabteilungen, Think-Tanks und Testlabore.

Begleiten Sie uns auf dieser spannenden Reise?

01_Freisteller_Initiative